Product Banner Image

Many NPQ participants are eligible for funding support.

Check the list of districts below to see if your school is eligible for this funding. Please note this is subject to final DfE approval and verification following application to the programme.

Scholarship funding is available to people working in educational establishments within the publicly funded school sector in England. This includes maintained schools, academies, free schools, university technical colleges, special schools; alternative provision, early years and post-16 settings, such as schools with a sixth-form, and sixth-form colleges. In terms of scope, primary and secondary schools, as well as all-through schools, are in scope.

Scholarships are available for participants in Opportunity Areas and category 5 and 6 district area schools. The Department for Education has confirmed that they expect to fund all eligible scholarships for autumn 2018 starters. Also, funding has been secured for January and March 2019 cohorts.

In October 2016, the Secretary of State for Education announced targeted support for six Opportunity Areas, identified as having the greatest need and the lowest rates of social mobility in England. In January 2017, six further areas were added. They are:
Blackpool, Bradford, Derby, Doncaster, Fenland & East Cambridgeshire, Hastings, Ipswich, Norwich, Oldham, Scarborough, Stoke-on-Trent, West Somerset

Category 5 & 6 areas

In March 2016 the Department for Education evaluated each Local Authority District and grouped them into six categories numbered 1 to 6. Areas rated 5 and 6 are those where children were making the least progress and had the poorest access to high-quality schools.

Category 5 areas

Allerdale, Arun, Ashfield, Ashford, Babergh, Basingstoke and Deane, Bracknell Forest, Braintree, Broxtowe, Burnley, Cannock Chase, Carlisle, Coventry, Dudley, East Lindsey, Eden, Gravesham, Halton Havant, Kirklees, Leicester, Lewes, Lincoln, Luton, Mansfield, Medway, Mid Suffolk, Milton Keynes, Newark and Sherwood, North Lincolnshire, North Warwickshire, Nuneaton and Bedworth, Pendle, Reading, Rochdale, Salford, Sefton, Sheffield, South Staffordshire, St Edmundsbury, St. Helens, Stafford, Staffordshire Moorlands, Stevenage, Swindon, Tameside, Telford and Wrekin Tendring, Thanet, Torridge, Warrington, Wirral, Wychavon, Wyre Forest

Category 6 areas

Amber Valley, Barnsley, Blackpool, Bolsover, Bradford, Breckland, Chesterfield, Corby, Crawley, Daventry, Derby, Doncaster, East Cambridgeshire, East Northamptonshire, East Riding of Yorkshire, East Staffordshire, Erewash, Fenland, Forest Heath, Gosport, Great Yarmouth, Hastings, High Peak, Huntingdonshire, Ipswich, Isle of Wight, Kettering, King’s Lynn and West Norfolk, Kingston upon Hull, City of Knowsley, Liverpool, Middlesbrough, North East Derbyshire, North East Lincolnshire, Northampton, Northumberland, Norwich, Nottingham, Oldham, Peterborough, Portsmouth, Sandwell, Scarborough, South Derbyshire, South Holland, Stoke-on-Trent, Tamworth, Walsall, Waveney, Wellingborough, West Somerset, Weymouth and Portland, Wolverhampton, Worthing.

How do I know if my school is in this category?

You can click on the link below to check if your school is listed within any of the qualifying above district areas and eligible for funding.

Eligible funding district.

In the event scholarships are over-subscribed the DfE reserves the right to prioritise funding using the following criteria (in order of priority):

  •  Participants working in Opportunity Areas
  •  Participants working in schools where more than 30% of pupils receive Free School Meals
  •  Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) teachers and leaders
  •  Participants working in a school in an Opportunity Area, where the school is below the Key Stage 2 or Key Stage 4 floor standards

Please note:

  • If you are eligible for a scholarship we will apply on your behalf.
  • If a participant starts a programmes and subsequently withdraws they are not eligible to apply for funding again for that programme in the future.
  • Where a participant moves into an eligible area part way through their programme, the providers will need to determine the value of services delivered at the point of the move, and the value of outstanding services yet to be provided (if the participant is continuing their course to completion). The provider with whom they complete the remainder of the qualification (whether new or the same) will then be able to claim for the outstanding amount, on condition that the participant meets the other criteria (not having previously received funding for an NPQ, for example).
  • If you change schools, defer or withdraw funding may be withdrawn in whole or in part by the DfE. If this happens, we may have to pass the charge on to you.